

CONFERENCE CALL MINUTES MARCH 7, 2015

DRAFT DISTRIBUTION DATE: MARCH 9, 2015

CURRENT STATUS: CANDIDATE FOR AUTO-APPROVAL

ATTENDANCE

Executive Committee members participating were: Nick Sarwark (Chair), Arvin Vohra (Vice-Chair), Alicia Mattson (Secretary), Tim Hagan (Treasurer), Sam Goldstein (At-Large), Jim Lark (Region 5), Bill Redpath (At-Large)

Other LNC participants were: Gary Johnson (At-Large), Vicki Kirkland (Region 2), Joshua Katz (Region 8 Alternate)

Other participants: Wes Benedict (Executive Director), Jessica Paxton (Chair, Libertarian Party of Arkansas)

CALL TO ORDER

The teleconference meeting was called to order at 9:02 p.m. Eastern, at which time Dr. Lark and other members of the Executive Committee congratulated the Chair on the recent addition to the Sarwark family.

AGENDA

The meeting was called to discuss ballot access in Arkansas.

ARKANSAS BALLOT ACCESS

Mr. Redpath moved to encumber \$26,000 of LNC funds for a petition drive in Arkansas.

Mr. Redpath provided the general background for the request. The 2015 LNC budget includes \$57,500 for ballot access, of which \$37,000 was for Arkansas. The petition drive

needs 10,000 valid signatures within a 90-day period. The prior petition drive by the Arkansas affiliate achieved a validity rate slightly over 75%, and so he projects 14,000 gross signatures are needed. Ms. Paxton estimates that the affiliate can gather 1,500 signatures on a volunteer basis, leaving a need for 12,500 signatures from paid petitioners. Such petitioners will be paid \$2.50 per signature, with no expense reimbursements. The affiliate will contribute \$5,500 to the effort, thus the request for the LNC to encumber \$26,000. The affiliate intends to determine the validity of each signature before submitting the petition, as the affiliate is allowed only one submission.

Further discussion indicated that a successful petition drive will result in ballot access for Libertarian candidates at all levels in Arkansas for the 2016 election cycle. To retain ballot access following the 2016 election, our presidential candidate must receive at least 3% of the vote. For comparison, our 2012 presidential ticket received 1.5% of the vote in Arkansas.

Following debate, voting on the main motion was as follows:

Voting "aye": Goldstein, Hagan, Lark, Mattson, Redpath, Sarwark, Vohra

Voting "no": (none)

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned without objection at 9:19 p.m. Eastern.