Secretary's Report

For July 18-19, 2015 LNC Session

Following is a status report for minutes of LNC and EC meetings since the previous regular LNC session:

- March 28-29, 2015 LNC session auto-approved on April 26, 2015
- April 15, 2015 LNC Executive Committee teleconference meeting auto-approved on April 30, 2015
- May 3, 2015 LNC electronic meeting auto-approved on May 29, 2015
- June 17, 2015 LNC Executive Committee teleconference meeting auto-approved on July 3, 2015

The Policy Manual has been updated to reflect the changes made by the LNC on March 28, 2015.

These records are being promptly posted to the website by our staff.

Changes in the membership of the LNC will be addressed in my verbal report during the session.

Committee membership changes since the previous regular LNC session:

- Following the March LNC session, I contacted the applicants for the Bylaws and Rules, Platform, and Credentials Committees to inform them about who had been elected.
- Following the March LNC session, I contacted the chairs of the affiliates that get to make appointments to the Platform or Credentials Committees to make sure they knew of their right to appoint and of the appointment deadlines.
- VA has appointed Juanita Billings as their representative to the Credentials Committee. Four other states have not yet made their appointments, to my knowledge.
- The following state appointments have been made to the Platform Committee: M Carling (WA), Roy Minet (PA), Christian Padgett (NY), Rebecca Sink-Burris (IN), Aaron Starr (CA). Ten other states have not yet made their appointments, to my knowledge.
- The LNC appointed an interim chair of the Bylaws and Rules Committee. The committee has since selected M Carling as their permanent chair.
- The non-LNC members of the Convention Oversight Committee were appointed, those being: Audrey Capozzi (FL), J.J. McCurry (FL), and BetteRose Ryan (AZ). On 5/27/15 Mr. Sarwark designated BetteRose Ryan as Chair of the Convention Oversight Committee.
- Jay Estrada's June 21, 2015 resignation from the LNC created vacancies on the Advertising & Publications Review Committee, the Convention Oversight Committee, and the Ballot Access Committee.

Besides the special LNC electronic meeting in May, I have hosted 6 other Adobe Connect meetings for two committees.

While reviewing monthly data dumps sent to the affiliates, I noticed some deceased people were still mistakenly being reported as sustaining members. Mr. Kraus reviewed the queries used to reset the sustaining member flags each month and found that the flag was never being cleared from "Dropped" records. As a result, any person who was a sustaining member at the time they were marked as deceased perpetually stayed in the sustaining membership counts, even years later. The last gift dates on some of these records suggest this problem did not develop recently, but has been there unnoticed for years. The error in the query has been remedied, and beginning with May 2015 our sustaining membership counts no longer include those deceased persons. My extrapolation estimate is that there were likely 100-150 such records in our system.

The following 6 email ballots were completed since the March 28-29 LNC session:

<u>Motion</u>: To sustain the Chair's ruling that a person's purchase of a convention package in the prior twelve months meets the requirement of Bylaws Article 5.3 that a sustaining member must have "given at least \$25 to the Party in the prior twelve months".

Sponsors: Mattson, Olsen, Wiener, Hagan

<u>Started:</u> 4/28/15 <u>Ended:</u> 5/8/15

Voting "aye": Goldstein, Johnson, Kirkland, Sarwark, Vohra

Voting "nay": Estrada, Feldman, Hagan, Katz, Lark, Mattson, McLendon, Olsen, Redpath, Riemers, Wiener

<u>Illegal vote:</u> Craig (aye)

With a final vote tally of 5-11, there are a majority in the negative, and the chair's ruling is overturned.

Motion: To elect Doug Craig to the at-large vacancy

Sponsors: Mattson, Olsen, Wiener, Hagan

<u>Started:</u> 4/28/15 <u>Ended:</u> 5/8/15

Voting "aye": Estrada, Goldstein, Hagan, Johnson, Katz, Kirkland, Lark, McLendon, Olsen, Redpath, Riemers, Sarwark, Vohra, Wiener

Voting "nay": (none)

<u>Illegal vote:</u> Craig (aye)

Express Abstentions: Mattson, Feldman

The motion PASSED with a final vote tally of 14-0.

<u>Motion:</u> To designate Dr. James Lark as our representative to the International Alliance of Libertarian Parties

Sponsor: Sarwark

<u>Started:</u> 6/18/15 <u>Ended:</u> 6/28/15

Voting "aye": Bittner, Craig, Goldstein, Hagan, Johnson, Katz, Lark, Marsh, Mattson, O'Toole, Sarwark, Wiener, Windeler

Voting "nay": (none)

The motion PASSED with a final vote tally of 13-0.

<u>Motion</u>: Increase the Ballot Access Expense line item by \$65,000, from \$57,500 to \$122,500, contingent on the LNC receiving cash receipts, not reduced by any associated fundraising expenses, that are earmarked for a 2015 Libertarian Party of Oklahoma petition drive, of at least \$60,000.

Sponsor: Sarwark

On 6/19/15 Mr. Sarwark requested to withdraw this motion, and there was no objection from the LNC.

<u>Motion:</u> Increase the Ballot Access Expense line item by \$65,000, from \$57,500 to \$122,500, contingent on the LNC receiving cash receipts, that are earmarked for a 2015 Libertarian Party of Oklahoma petition drive, of at least \$60,000, and cash receipts (net of associated fundraising costs) of at least \$55,000.

Sponsor: Sarwark

<u>Started:</u> 6/19/15 <u>Ended:</u> 6/29/15 Voting "aye": Craig, Feldman, Hagan, Hayes, Johnson, Katz, Kirkland, Lark, McLendon, O'Toole, Redpath, Sarwark

Voting "nay": Goldstein, Mattson, Olsen, Wiener

The motion PASSED with a final vote tally of 12-4.

Motion: to set an LNC session to be held November 14-15, 2015 in Orlando

Sponsor: Sarwark

<u>Started:</u> 6/21/15 <u>Ended:</u> 7/1/15

Voting "aye": Bittner, Craig, Goldstein, Hayes, Kirkland, Olsen, Redpath, Wiener

Voting "nay": McLendon

Express Abstentions: Hagan, Johnson, Lark, Mattson

The motion PASSED with a final vote tally of 8-1.

Alicia Mattson LNC Secretary