

### **LNC MINUTES**

# ELECTRONIC MEETING VIA ADOBE CONNECT FEBRUARY 2, 2018

CURRENT STATUS: DRAFT

REVISION #:

VERSION LAST UPDATED: FEBRUARY 4, 2018
FIRST DRAFT DUE TO LNC MEMBERS 15 DAYS AFTER SESSION: FEBRUARY 17, 2018

FIRST DRAFT DISTRIBUTED: FEBRUARY 4, 2018

ATTENDEE COMMENTS DUE WITHIN 15 DAYS OF DRAFT DISTRIBUTION: FEBRUARY 19, 2018

UPDATED DRAFT DUE WITHIN 7 DAYS OF END OF COMMENT PERIOD: FEBRUARY 26, 2018

UPDATED DRAFT SENT:

UPDATED VERSION ADOPTED W/O OBJECTION 7 DAYS FROM DISTRIBUTION: TBD

### **CALL TO ORDER**

Nick Sarwark called the special electronic meeting to order shortly after 9:00 p.m. (all times Eastern)

### **ATTENDANCE**

Attending the meeting were:

Officers: Nick Sarwark (Chair), Arvin Vohra (Vice-Chair), Alicia Mattson (Secretary), Tim Hagan (Treasurer)

At-Large Representatives: Sam Goldstein, Daniel Hayes, Joshua Katz, Bill Redpath, Starchild (joined at approximately 9:29 p.m.)

Regional Representatives: Caryn Ann Harlos (Region 1), Elizabeth Van Horn (Region 3), Jeff Hewitt (Region 4), Jim Lark (Region 5), David Demarest (Region 6), Whitney Bilyeu (Region 7), Patrick McKnight (Region 8)

Regional Alternates: Steven Nekhaila (Region 2 – joined at approximately 10:15 p.m.), Dustin Nanna (Region 3 – joined at approximately 10:15 p.m.), Aaron Starr (Region 4 – joined at 10:11 p.m. following Mr. Hewitt's departure), Sean O'Toole (Region 6), Erin Adams (Region 7), Larry Sharpe (Region 8)

Not present were: Ed Marsh (Region 2 Representative), Steven Nielson (Region 1 Alternate)

At various times the gallery contained approximately 30 - 40 other attendees in addition to those listed above.

#### *AGENDA*

This meeting had been called per Policy Manual Section 1.02.7 by request of Whitney Bilyeu, Bill Redpath, Joshua Katz, Tim Hagan, Caryn Ann Harlos, and Elizabeth Van Horn for the purpose of discussing motions for censure and suspension of the Vice Chairman.

## CENSURE AND SUSPENSION OF THE VICE CHAIR

Ms. Mattson moved that the LNC adopt the following:

Whereas, Bylaw Article 6.7 states that the National Committee may, for cause, suspend any officer by a vote of 2/3 of the entire National Committee;

Whereas, Vice Chair Arvin Vohra's public discourse has repeatedly included inflammatory and insulting remarks which bring the Party, its candidates, and its principles into disrepute;

Whereas Mr. Vohra's remarks have destructively stereotyped party members and large segments of the population, a behavior completely at odds with our Party's philosophy of recognizing and treating people as individuals; and

Whereas, Mr. Vohra's comments have caused wide-spread offense, and the result is that the LNC, its committees, and Party affiliates are distracted from productive activities;

Therefore, be it resolved that the Libertarian National Committee suspends Arvin Vohra for cause from his position as LNC Vice Chair; and

Furthermore, we disavow and repudiate Mr. Vohra's comments as being unrepresentative of the Libertarian National Committee.

Ms. Bilyeu moved to divide the question to consider the final "Furthermore..." clause separately from the remainder of the resolution.

Mr. Katz moved to amend the division such that only the "Therefore..." clause would be considered separately from the other clauses.

Following debate, the Katz amendment of the Bilyeu division failed with a vote total of 6-7.

Following debate, the Bilyeu division failed with a vote total of 4-9.

Ms. Harlos moved to amend by striking the "Furthermore..." clause. Following debate, the amendment was adopted with a vote total of 8-7. The main motion now became:

Whereas, Bylaw Article 6.7 states that the National Committee may, for cause, suspend any officer by a vote of 2/3 of the entire National Committee;

Whereas, Vice Chair Arvin Vohra's public discourse has repeatedly included inflammatory and insulting remarks which bring the Party, its candidates, and its principles into disrepute:

Whereas Mr. Vohra's remarks have destructively stereotyped party members and large segments of the population, a behavior completely at odds with our Party's philosophy of recognizing and treating people as individuals; and

Whereas, Mr. Vohra's comments have caused wide-spread offense, and the result is that the LNC, its committees, and Party affiliates are distracted from productive activities;

Therefore, be it resolved that the Libertarian National Committee suspends Arvin Vohra for cause from his position as LNC Vice Chair.

Following additional debate, the vote on the main motion, as amended was as follows:

Voting "Yes": Goldstein, Hagan, Harlos, Mattson, McKnight, Redpath, Starr, Van Horn

Voting "No": Bilyeu, Demarest, Hayes, Katz, Lark, Nekhaila, Starchild, Vohra

With a vote total of 8-8 the motion failed to reach the bylaws-required threshold of 2/3 of the entire National Committee.

Starchild moved to adjourn. Ms. Harlos raised a point of order that she should have been recognized prior to Starchild being recognized, and she indicated a desire to offer a motion for censure. The chair ruled the point of order not well taken. The motion to adjourn failed with a vote total of 4-10.

Ms. Harlos moved that the LNC adopt the following:

Whereas, Vice Chair Arvin Vohra's public discourse has repeatedly included inflammatory and insulting remarks which bring the Party, its candidates, and its principles into disrepute;

Whereas Mr. Vohra's remarks have destructively stereotyped party members and large segments of the population, a behavior completely at odds with our Party's philosophy of recognizing and treating people as individuals; and

Whereas, Mr. Vohra's comments have caused wide-spread offense, and the result is that the LNC, its committees, and Party affiliates are distracted from productive activities;

Therefore, be it resolved that the Libertarian National Committee censures Arvin Vohra.

Following debate, the vote on the motion was as follows:

Voting "Yes": Goldstein, Hagan, Harlos, Katz, Mattson, McKnight, Redpath, Starr, Van Horn

Voting "No": Bilyeu, Demarest, Hayes, Lark, Nekhaila, Starchild, Vohra

Starchild moved to allow a period of public comment. The vote on the motion was as follows:

Voting "Yes": Demarest, Harlos, Hayes, Starchild, Vohra

Voting "No": Goldstein, Mattson, McKnight, Nekhaila, Redpath, Van Horn

#### *ADIOURNMENT*

Mr. Redpath moved to adjourn, and the motion was adopted at 11:31 p.m.