Secretary's Report

For June 30, 2018 LNC Session

Following is a status report for minutes of LNC and EC meetings since the previous regular LNC session on April 21-22, 2018:

- April 21-22, 2018 LNC session auto-approved May 22, 2018
- June 1, 2018 EC videoconference auto-approved on June 15, 2018
- June 20, 2018 EC teleconference scheduled for auto-approval on July 5, 2018

LNC membership changes since the previous regular LNC session:

California selects its regional representation at its state conventions, rather than with a
caucus at the national convention. At the April 28, 2018 state convention, California
selected Jeff Hewitt as its region rep and Kenneth Brent Olsen as its regional alternate for
the upcoming term. Nevada has consented to the change. This change created an
automatic vacancy on Audit Committee.

Committee membership changes since the previous regular LNC session:

- In April 2018, Scott Pettigrew (appointee of Ohio) resigned from the Credentials Committee. Ohio subsequently appointed Jon Mohler to replace him.
- Steve Linnabary (an LNC appointee) has resigned from the Credentials Committee.
- Florida has appointed Steve Nekhaila as an alternate to the Platform Committee.

I have updated the Policy Manual for the changes adopted during the April LNC meeting and the change adopted in a subsequent email ballot.

I have distributed a Delegation Chair's Manual to try to preemptively answer many questions that delegation chairs often have about national conventions. The document is available on the convention website, in the "Delegate Docs" section.

I have prepared the delegate token packets, which will be distributed by the Credentials Committee at the national convention.

The following 4 email ballots were completed since the April 21-22, 2018 LNC session:

Motion 2018-06: Amend Policy Manual Section 1.02.7 Electronic Meetings as follows:

- a) The term "electronic meeting" within these electronic meeting rules shall be construed to include teleconferences and videoconferences.
- b) The term "committee" within these electronic meeting rules shall be construed to include both the LNC (as the board of the Libertarian Party) as well as committees.
- c) All videoconferences will be conducted via the Adobe Connect (Citrix) service, hereinafter referred to as Adobe Connect or via Zoom (zoom.us). These two services are hereinafter referred to as Electronic Meeting Provider(s).

e) Each committee member calling for an electronic meeting must do so by emailing the entire committee and specifying the date of the meeting, time of the meeting, meeting link including the identity of the Electronic Meeting Provider, and the topic(s) to be addressed. Meetings must be so called no fewer than 2 days in advance for committees with fewer than 10 members, or 7 days in advance for committees with 10 or more members. These time limits do not apply to the LNC's Executive Committee, the LNC's Advertising and Publications Review Committee, or the Judicial Committee.

[...]

- h) Each participant must provide his own equipment and connectivity, including but not limited to any computer, internet access, web camera, microphone, earphones, or telephone. Members and alternates have the right to participate in an electronic meeting by telephone, however they should use a computer connection if feasible so as to be able to more fully use the Adobe Connect Electronic Meeting Provider features. The organization is not responsible for providing a central location for physical attendance of an electronic meeting. For face-to- face meetings, electronic participation is not allowed.
- i) Each participant must accurately identify himself by name when joining the meeting. Videoconference participants other than members or alternates of the committee must precede their sign-in name with "zz" (or the group administrator shall do so) so as to group them at the end of the alphabetical participant list.

[...]

- n) If the committee permits, participants other than members or alternates of the committee may observe videoconferences using Adobe Connect the Electronic Meeting Provider (and not by a toll-free number) with their web cameras off and their microphones muted.
- o) The LNC Secretary shall promulgate these rules to all members/alternates of each committee upon notice of their election or appointment.
- p) Arrangements for use of the Electronic Meeting Provides must be made through the LNC Secretary who may be required to be present to administer the meeting which might limit available days for use.

Sponsors: Harlos, Goldstein, Demarest, O'Donnell, Van Horn

<u>Started:</u> 05/23/18 <u>Ended:</u> 06/02/18

Voting "aye": Bilyeu, Demarest, Goldstein, Harlos, Lark, Marsh, O'Donnell, Olsen, Starchild, Van

Horn, Vohra

Voting "nay": (none)

Express Abstention: Katz, Mattson

With a final vote tally of 11-0, the motion PASSES.

Motion 2018-07:

Sponsors: Direct the COC to change inclusion rules as follows. Any candidate who can get 10 signatures should be included in the debate. Convention delegates may sign more than one petition.

<u>Started:</u> 06/03/18 <u>Ended:</u> 06/13/18

Voting "aye": (none)

Voting "nay": Bilyeu, Goldstein, Hagan, Harlos, Hayes, Katz, Lark, Marsh, Mattson, O'Donnell, Olsen, Van Horn

Express Abstention: Demarest

With a final vote tally of 0-12, the motion FAILS.

<u>Motion 2018-08</u>: The LNC will provide \$500 each to the campaigns of Craig Bowden (U.S. Senate UT) and Lloyd Princeton (U.S. House of Representatives NM) from the Candidate Support budget line.

Sponsors: Goldstein, Harlos, Hagan, O'Donnell, Demarest, Van Horn

Started: 06/05/18 Ended: 06/15/18

Voting "aye": Bilyeu, Demarest, Goldstein, Hagan, Harlos, Hayes, Lark, Marsh, O'Donnell, Olsen,

Van Horn

Voting "nay": (none)

With a final vote tally of 11-0, the motion PASSES.

Motion 2018-09: to amend Policy Manual Section 2.02.5 (in part) as follows:

"With a majority vote the committee may select recipients of the Thomas Jefferson, Samuel Adams, <u>Benjamin Franklin</u>, Thomas Paine, and Patrick Henry awards. While the committee has discretion as to the frequency of such convention awards, it is hoped that at least one recipient will be found worthy for each award at each regular convention."

Sponsors: Mattson, Harlos, Hayes, O'Donnell, Katz, Goldstein

<u>Started:</u> 06/11/18 <u>Ended:</u> 06/21/18 <u>Voting "aye":</u> Bilyeu, Demarest, Goldstein, Hagan, Harlos, Hayes, Hewitt, Lark, Marsh, Mattson, O'Donnell, Starchild, Van Horn

Voting "nay": (none)

With a final vote tally of 13-0, the motion PASSES.

Alicia Mattson LNC Secretary